From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane.

life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass; It's about learning to dance in the rain.

In Search of Symmetry – Day 179 Breast Reconstruction & A Purple Nipple Tattoo

on September 24, 2011

Two weeks ago I went to see Dr. Saint-Cyr, who is still my hero!  He marked me up with his famous colored markers in preparation for the third stage of my breast reconstruction.  The next morning my daughter and I went to the gym.  As we were getting dressed, a woman looked over and said, “That is an interesting tattoo!”  I looked down and saw all the pink, green and black squiggles and arrows and a purple nipple, drawn right in the middle.  That is what I have always wanted, a PURPLE NIPPLE TATTOO!  

The surgery was Tuesday, and I have a nipple.  It is covered in bandages, so I do not know yet what color it is.  I am told it will be flesh colored, and after it is completely healed up, Dr. Saint-Cyr will tattoo it.  Not PURPLE!  I do have a lot of purple bruises around the sites where my fat was extracted and then more bruises where the fat was placed in and around the new breast.  I am going to be symmetrical.

This symmetry business has been more work than I bargained for.  I am happy that I choose symmetry and I am very happy it is almost over.  My plan was to post every day of the breast reconstruction process, for a complete picture of the process from one person’s point of view.  The best laid plans go awry. 

My first interruption was the flood in my bedroom and master bathroom.  In order to repair the wet hardwood floors in the master bedroom, we had to move out of the house for 10 days.  While staying in the hotel, I developed a hematoma in the radiated skin above the breast reconstruction and had to be hospitalized for a week.  The day after I came home from the hospital, we moved back into our house.  The hardwood floor was great, but our master bath had concrete floors and water damage to walls, wallpaper and the bathroom vanity. 

I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me ,I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency.   Phillippians 4:13 Amplified

As soon as I could stand up, a friend came to help me put the bathroom back together, again.  When he pulled the bathroom vanity out, the shower caved in.  It seemed to get much, much worse, before it got better!  All’s well that ends well – we finished up the bathroom, just in time for my second surgery.  This is the clean up phase, where Dr. Saint-Cyr reshaped the lump of flesh into a breast shape and eliminated some of the large scar tissue from the first surgery.  It was an out-patient surgery and my recovery time was 3 weeks, instead of 6 weeks.

 http://www.kodakgallery.com/video/play.jsp?videoId=226910442214&key=4395012&sourceId=969909816903&cm_mmc=Share-_-Video-_-shareCopyLink-_-Sharee-_-View

Between the flood, the master bathroom remodel, and two surgeries, this has been a very busy summer.  Gary is also working in San Antonio now, and living with my sister!  In a very brotherly sort of way.  He and she are so busy, she says she has seen him 15 minutes in the 3 weeks they have been “living together.”  This week Gary was here, he worked out of Dallas and from home.  He is leaving this afternoon and I will miss him very much.

I believe  every problem, obstacle,dilemma, predicament, quandary, or trouble that comes our way contains the seed of our future success!! Together, you and I will be able to find that seed of success, water and grow it. Join me for free and let us see what will happen. I covet your comments and would love for you to subscribe today.

Share From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane with your friends. Subscribe today! It is free. It is easy. You will find out as soon as From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane is updated and never miss out on any seeds of success. Your email address will be kept private. You can unsubscribe at any time.

6 responses to “In Search of Symmetry – Day 179 Breast Reconstruction & A Purple Nipple Tattoo

  1. Alex Adena says:

    How wonderful to come across such an uplifting spirit as yours. The temptation is always give up, whether it’s a matter small or large. I had a health issue 10 years ago that took three months to properly diagnose. A lot of valleys and “what ifs” during those three months. But I hung in there and came through the other side stronger, and I can tell you’re going to do the same.

    • mommemau2 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. To be in bad health is frightening, but I have always believed that a merry heart does good like medicine and now I get to test my belief!!

  2. Hi Cherry,

    So wonderful to read that you are being remade better than ever (like the Million Dollar Man;) I know it must all be painful and invasive but no mention of that here. You are brave and inspiring. The floods seem to pain you more!

    Lot of love and hugs to you. xoxox Annabel

  3. mommemau2 says:

    Thanks for your kind words. That’s me, the Million Dollar Woman!! And who can think about pain when your bathroom is falling down. All is well that ends well and that is me, the Million Dollar Woman. Thanks again.

  4. jsnapp62 says:

    Wondering how you are doing. I haven’t seen an update in awhile on your blog site. Praying you are doing well and God has taken over your situation in His perfect will.

    • mommemau2 says:

      Thanks so much. I am so glad to hear from you. The holiday season and the last small surgery just did me in for a little bit. I am praying that I will get a post or two out this month. Thanks again. Have a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

