From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane.

life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass; It's about learning to dance in the rain.

In Search Of Symmetry – Day 12 Breast Reconstruction

on April 10, 2011

 I began walking again today.  Gary walked with me for one half mile and the girls walked with me 3 miles.  This is the exercise suggested by Dr. Saint Cyr when I asked for a referral to a physical therapist.  It really felt good out walking on the walking trails, even though I am still wearing  yoga pants and a t-shirt and have 2 JP drains.   Dr. Saint Cyr cautioned me several times not to stand up straight.  I am sure I looked quite silly.

Looking silly is one of the consequences of cancer. Shortly before I began cancer treatment, I went to a program put on by the American Cancer Society for breast cancer patients.  It is called “Looking Pretty”.  I was given a bag of makeup, a wig and some instructions on how to draw on eyebrows.  A prior participant was lauded because she never left her room with out her wig and full makeup.  This somehow made her feel normal. 

I hated my wigs. They were hot and itchy.  I never have been able to draw on eyebrows.  There have been many days when I have not worn makeup.  I noticed I have never been asked to speak at one of these events.  I have not felt “normal”since I began chemo.  I have read accounts of woman in the 16th and 17th century who survived smallpox.  Smallpox was very disfiguring and it was common to coat your face with wax, or to past little scraps of velvet over the worst smallpox scars.  Coating the face with wax is where we get the expression about cracking a smile.  A smile would literally cause the wax to crack and fall off.  Before the surgery, I felt more in the category of a smallpox survivor, than “pretty”. 

What matters is not your outer appearance—the styling of your hair, the jewelry you wear, the cut of your clothes—but your inner disposition.  Cultivate inner beauty, the gentle, gracious kind that God delights in. 1 Peter 3:4-5 The Message

I praise the Lord that he looks not on our appearance, but sees our heart.  Tomorrow I will not be in church, as I do not want to go to church in my yoga pants, t-shirt and with my JP drains, but my heart will be at the house of the Lord.  

I am praying blessings on everyone who has prayed for me.  I know the many prayers have sustained me.      

I believe  every problem, obstacle,dilemma, predicament, quandary, or trouble that comes our way contains the seed of our future success!! Together, you and I will be able to find that seed of success, water and grow it. Join me for free and let us see what will happen. I covet your comments and would love for you to subscribe today.

Share From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane with your friends. Subscribe today! It is free. It is easy. You will find out as soon as From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane is updated and never miss out on any seeds of success. Your email address will be kept private. You can unsubscribe at any time.

One response to “In Search Of Symmetry – Day 12 Breast Reconstruction

  1. […] Day Forward! Practical Guide to Christian Financial Freedom Further you can see this related post: https://mommemau2.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/in-search-of-symmetry-day-12-breast-reconstruction/ Also you can take a look at this related read: […]

Leave a Reply

