From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane.

life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass; It's about learning to dance in the rain.

In Search of Symmetry – Day 7 Breast Reconstruction

on April 4, 2011

The entire cancer experience seems to have been distilled into the last few days.  A dear friend of mine called, diagnosed with throat cancer after I was diagnosed with inflammatory breast cancer.  He has completed chemo and radiation. He did not have to have surgery;  just had his second PET scan and is now in remission.  He spoke with me during my 6 days in the hospital and he said,” I do not dwell on the past, the pain, the treatment, the fear;  I  now feel empowered to go forward and do anything.”  We, who have had the diagnosis of cancer, have truly been in the belly of the furnace,and if we are in remission, we know we have walked with God. 

Last Monday, I was lopsided.  In remission, but lopsided.  I had a constant and inconvenient reminder of  the fight I had been through.  I knew I had to embrace this as I embraced my new sparse and sticky hair or go for surgery. More surgery, more doctors, more pain.  Maybe, if I were single, I might have chosen to embrace this asymmetry.  I am not single.  

        Let your fountain be blessed,
         And rejoice in the wife of your youth. 
         As a loving hind and a graceful doe,
         Let her breasts satisfy you at all times;
         Be exhilarated always with her love.    Proverbs 5:18-19 New American Standard

I am the wife of my husband’s youth.  We have been married 36 years. The asymmetry, along with the radiation scarring was difficult and painful for him.  We could not go to our future with this between us.

My husband has been faithful, prayerful, believing for my healing.  He has taken off from work; then worked, cooked, cleaned and nursed me, all at the same time.  My husband has never complained about me being bald, gaining weight or being lopsided.  He has only said that to look at the radiation scarring caused him pain.

One doctor said that he should be grateful that I was alive.  And he was. That doctor was a woman, and she forgot that the first thing out of my husbands mouth, when she said they were going to take my breast was and ” You ARE going to put it back?”

So, Dr. Saint Cyr did the miracle that the woman surgeon could not do, and took all the fat and skin off my belly and made me a new breast.  I look like a badly sewed rag doll at present.  Something you might find on the Wal-Mart toy isle under “Monster High”, except for the senior hair, wrinkles and age spots!

In the last 7 days I have experienced the nausea of chemo, the unreal feel of waking from surgery, the burning and itching of radiation.  Of course the nausea was not from chemo, but the pain medicine, I did have a 6 hour surgery, and the burning and itching was the skin waking up from being stitched together.  But all of this is for the future, the future of symmetry.

My niece asked a question on Facebook, the question was, “Which is better?… For you to love a woman because she is beautiful, or for her to become beautiful because you love her?”

I want to thank every single person who prayed for me.  I know it is and will make a difference in the outcome.

I believe every problem, obstacle,dilemma, predicament, quandary, or trouble that comes our way contains the seed of our future success!! Together, you and I will be able to find that seed of success, water and grow it. Join me for free and let us see what will happen. I covet your comments and would love for you to subscribe today.

Share From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane with your friends. Subscribe today! It is free. It is easy. You will find out as soon as From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane is updated and never miss out on any seeds of success. Your email address will be kept private. You can unsubscribe at any time.

     

6 responses to “In Search of Symmetry – Day 7 Breast Reconstruction

  1. Lissa says:

    you’ve been in my thoughts all week. love you and pray you recover quickly!

  2. Honei Bowers says:

    I am so glad that the Lord lead you to a place where you can get back to feeling whole and healed and can get on with your life!!! We love you and are honored that you are he firstborn of the family– you make us look into things and take care of our bodies.

    • mommemau2 says:

      Honei, you are just like your name, sweet and refreshing and good for the body. I love you and thanks so much for the kind words, encouragment and prayer.

  3. jelillie says:

    I am continuing to pray for you from my station way up North. Know sister you have friends both near and far who are bringing your name before the throne of Heaven today!

Leave a Reply

