From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane.

life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass; It's about learning to dance in the rain.

What Is Your Excuse?

on January 29, 2011

Inertia is the tendency of a body to maintain its state of rest or uniform motion unless acted upon by an external force,

direct quote from Wikipedia.  After last year I feel I move from the speed of slow to the speed of very, very slow and slower.  This has become my excuse for not getting things done.  After all, the turtle would have never won the race if he had not  bothered to enter.  The turtle had my excuse, he was too slow.

I almost skipped this postaweek post as life came between me and this commitment.  This morning I was given three quotes and a video.  All of them pointed to the fact that I was making excuses.  This is really easy to do in the eye of a hurricane.  I do not want to be good at excuses, I want to be good at being myself. See quotes below.

I have never know a man that is good at making excuses, that is good at anything else. Benjamin Franklin

An excuse is just the skin of a reason stuffed with a lie. Billy Sunday

99% of failures come from people who have the habit of making excuses. George Washington Carver

I  made 3 commitments for the New Year and I have already failed to live up to them this past week.  I could give you some very good reasons (excuses, anyone!).  I determine to live my life in a way that will grow the seeds of my success.  So where do I go from here?

But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus  Philippians 3: 13-14 NIV

I am going to do this one thing, I am not going to focus on what I failed to do last week, I am not going to focus on what speed I can do things at, I am not going to focus on the consequences of the hurricane; I am going to focus on the race and growing the seeds of my success.

This is my prayer.  I received this video in an email and I am sharing it with you.  I hope you are as uplifted and blessed as I was.  This little girl has also lived in the eye of the hurricane.  She lost her mother several years ago to cancer.  The inertia of grief did not stop her.  It is obvious that her focus is not on her loss, but what she can give.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I will not be mired in the inertia of illness or the side effects of the cancer treatments.  I will  not be  mired in the inertia of my past week’s failures to keep my commitments.  I believe that you have the ability to keep me accountable.  All comments are cherished.

I believe every problem, obstacle,dilemma, predicament, quandary, or trouble that comes our way contains the seed of our future success!! Together, you and I will be able to find that seed of success, water and grow it.  Join me for free and let us see what will happen.  I covet your comments and would love for you to subscribe today.

Share From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of  A Hurricane with your friends.  Subscribe today!  It is free.  It is easy.  You will find out as soon as From an Obsessive Optimist in the Eye of A Hurricane is updated and never miss out on any seeds of success.  Your email address will be kept private.  You can unsubscribe at any time.

 

 

2 responses to “What Is Your Excuse?

  1. susan2009 says:

    Wow – “I do not want to be good at excuses, I want to be good at being myself” That is what I want too. I find it hard to be regimented for the long haul. This post has encouraged me to stick with it and follow my commitments. – Just for today is all I need to focus on.

    I came over here from Mel’s place (http://justalittlemel.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/a-little-circle-of-blog-buddies/) . Looks like we are part of the same bloggy buddy group. I will be back often. Please let me know how I may best assist you as a buddy.

    Blessings, Susan

    • mommemau2 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I love, love, love my blogging buddies and I welcome you as one. I love to read and this is so much fun. I am technology challanged and there are many things I still do not know how to do, like a blog roll! I am challanging myself to start the wordpress course this week. No excuses!

Leave a Reply

